contador Skip to content

Difference between consulate and embassy

The diplomatic mission is a foreign office, in a country where a group of officers represents the country of origin in the host country, as well as safeguarding the interest of citizens and the country of origin in the host country. The diplomatic mission involves embassies and consulates, where the embassy acts as a nerve center for the diplomatic representation of the public administration of one nation in another.

On the contrary, the consulate is an arm of the embassy that diplomatically represents the government of a country in a foreign city. Deals with travel and immigration issues. Read this article to understand the difference between consulate and embassy.

Comparative chart

Basis for the comparison Consulate Embassy
Sense The branch of an embassy representing the country of origin in the host country known as the consulate. The diplomatic presence of the government of one country in another country called an embassy.
Boss Consul General Ambassador
Number Several Only one
Located in Metros, financial capital and tourist cities. Capital of the country
Offers with Small problems Diplomatic issues

Definition of consulate

The consulate is the small form of the embassy, ??or an official office of one country in the territory of another country. directed by the Consul General, who reports to the Ambassador. located in various metro cities of the host country, excluding the country's capital.

The consulate mainly deals with passport issues of citizens of the country represented by the consulate and visas of foreign citizens who are willing to travel to the consulate's home country. It also maintains the record of births, marriages, divorces and deaths of citizens belonging to the country of origin.

In addition, set up to facilitate exchanges and maintain cordial relations between the two countries. responsible for protecting the citizens of your country.

Definition of Embassy

The embassy indicates a country's main diplomatic office in another country which includes an ambassador and other staff, who represent their country of origin in the host country. a permanent diplomatic presence in a host country that works to preserve the relationship between the host nation and the nation represented by the embassy. It reports to the country of origin of the events in the host country.

The embassy serves as the country's external affairs headquarters, located within the limits of another country. There can be a maximum of one country's embassy in another country and even only in the national capital.

The highest level of the local government appoints the ambassador as the highest diplomatic officer in another country and acts as a spokesperson for the country of origin.

Key differences between Consulate and Embassy

The following points are substantial as regards the difference between the consulate and the embassy:

  1. An embassy defined as the main representation of a country within the borders of another country. Conversely, a consulate can be understood as the secondary part of the embassy which represents a sovereign state, which carries out the same activities in metropolitan cities that an embassy carries out in the nation's capital.
  2. The head of the consulate called Consul General who subordinated to the ambassador. An ambassador is the head of the diplomatic mission, that is, the embassy.
  3. There may be several consulates in one country, but there is only one embassy from one country in the territory of another country.
  4. Consulates are located in regional capitals and in other cities such as metros and tourist cities. On the other hand, the embassy can only be found in the national capital.
  5. The work of an embassy other than a consulate that the embassy handles various diplomatic issues in the country, while the consulate set up to handle minor problems.


Embassy and Consulate are the two missions that help maintain harmony between the two countries. A larger embassy than a consulate, or says the former is the main office. These two represent the country of origin in another's territory and deal with various diplomatic issues.