contador Saltar al contenido

Delete personal information collected by Google

Google as a company has a hand in practically every corner of the Internet. While their search engine is best known for it, they also have services like YouTube, Gmail, Google Drive, Google Assistant and Google Plus.

Google offers a valuable service, but the main way they monetize through advertising and information gathering. Companies recognize the enormous influence that the company has to offer and ads on YouTube as well as web pages and searches have proven to be quite profitable.

If you are a user of Google products, the company likely has a fair amount of information about your Internet activities – data they use to increase the effectiveness of their advertisements.

The good news, however, that Google allows you to choose the data that is authorized to collect and even completely delete personal information.

The process is quite simple and you have many options to optimize Google tracking based on your needs. Read below to find out how to delete personal information collected by Google.

First, log in to myactivity.google.com to access the dashboard that contains your personal information. Upon your first arrival, Google will show you a short tutorial explaining how they track your business and some basic information about the controls available.

From there, you have several options on how to manage data deletion.

Delete your personal information from today

Step 1. By default, the main page chronologically shows your Internet activity, interrupting it from time to time and giving a good sense of the pages you have visited over time.

Step 2. At the top right of the " Today ", you can click on the three vertical dots to expand the menu. This gives you the ability to view details about your activity, as well as completely eliminate your browsing habits from the past day.

Delete a specific page

Step 1. If you want to delete a specific page from your history, find it in your business and click on the " Details "to view more information.

Step 2. As with the main menu page, click on the three points and select " Delete ".

Delete personal information by category

Step 1. If you want to completely delete your personal data, click on " Delete activity for "to the left of the main page.

Step 2. The next page allows you to choose a specific date range from which to delete information. Click on " Delete "to erase the totality of personal information that was collected during that period.

Step 3. You also have the option to delete data from specific Google services. Use the drop-down list on the page to select the services you want to delete, then follow the procedure from step 2.

Manage Google tracking

In addition to being able to delete existing Google information, you can manage how they manage your personal information in the future.

Step 1. Click on " Activity controls "in the menu on the left side of the page.

Step 2. The next page explains a little more about their tracking process and you will have the opportunity to manage the collection of data for each category. Just click on the slider to turn preferences on or off.

It can be difficult to reduce your footprint when browsing the web. However, Google offers the possibility to better maintain your privacy.

Although they don't advertise the utility, the Activity Tool is a great way to make sure you are well aware of the way the company handles your personal data. To enjoy!